Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

I’m extremely excited to know that I will be going home to England for Christmas and with my imminent return to the country of rain and the Queen I’ve been thinking of foodstuffs that I’ve been missing and am now craving obsessively.

The double chocolate muffins from Costa coffee are one of mine and my aunt’s favourite treats – I can’t wait to get cosy with a hot drink and a muffin and chat for hours about nothing imparticular.

I had a little muffin disaster last week but after seeing photos on facebook of some muffins a friend of mine made that looked divine, I had to ask where she got her recipe from. Turns out it was a Nigella Lawsom recipe (that minx!) and I had great success with these and as my friend said ‘a monkey could make these!’. Thank god I succeeded, my muffin self esteem could not handle another failure!

In other Canadian-related news, it’s snowing.

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

(from Nigella Lawson’s Feast)

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons best quality cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup superfine sugar
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips, plus 1/4 cup for sprinkling
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

Special equipment: Muffin tin with paper muffin cases

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Put the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa, sugar, and 3/4 cup of the chocolate chips into a large bowl. Pour all the liquid ingredients into a measuring jug. Mix the dry and wet ingredients together, remembering that a lumpy batter makes the best muffins. Spoon into the prepared muffin cases. Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup chocolate chips on top and then bake for 20 minutes or until the muffins are dark, risen and springy.
chocolate 

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Muffins

3 comments
  1. Susan said:

    We are really happy that you get to go home for a visit. In the meantime, I love your recipes and comments. We want you to come over for a Christmas “do” before you leave! Maybe December 18th? Talk to M and let me know.

  2. d said:

    Nigella and chocolate. A munch made in heaven!
    SAy Hi to Susan. Wish we could be there

  3. Christine said:

    Must try these-they look so good. Perhaps I’ll have them waiting for your return!

Leave a Reply

