Baklava Muffins

Although something I don’t have the delight of tasting it often, baklava is a very tasty treat indeed. So when I was flicking through Nigella Lawson’s “How to Be a Domestic Goddess” and saw this recipe, I knew I had to give it a go. However, perhaps this is a little naughty to say, but I’m not actually a huge fan of honey *GASP*. I substituted it for Lyle’s Golden Syrup. A very delicious English syrup that I was delighted the supermarket held on this side of the pond.

On another Nigella note, my parents brought me a copy of her latest book when they came to visit not long ago. YAY! My parents rock, and so does this book. It’s huge, like really massive, like I could protect my home with this weapon of a book. I’ve already bookmarked a ton of pages and can’t wait to get stuck in.

These muffins were super moist with a that nutty deep brown sugary filling that is so addictive.

Baklava Muffins

(from How to be a Domestic Goddess – Nigella Lawson)

for the filling:

  • 100g chopped walnuts
  • 75g demerara sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 45g butter, melted

for the muffins:

  • 210g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 0.5 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 45g unsalted butter, melted
  • 250ml buttermilk (or 175g yoghurt and 75g semi-skimmed milk)

12 bun muffin tray lined with 12 paper cases

for the topping:

  • 125ml runny honey (or in my case, Lyle’s Golden Syrup)
  1. Preheat the oven to 200degreesCelcius/gas mark 6.
  2. Mix all the filling ingredients together in a small bowl, and then get on with the muffins. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, bicarb and sugar. In a wide-mouthed measuring jug, whisk the egg, melted butter and buttermilk (or yoghurt-milk mix). Make a well in the dry ingredients, pour in the liquid and mix lightly and gently, remembering to keep it bumpy rather than going all-out for smooth: anything more than the gentlest handling makes for heavy muffins. Fill the muffin papers one-third full, add a scant tablespoon of filling, then cover with more muffin mixture until two-thirds full. Sprinkle any remaining filling on top of the muffins.
  3. Bake for 15 minutes, by which time they should be golden-brown and ready. Put the muffins, still in their papers, onto a rack and drizzle with honey. You may find it easier to warm the honey a little before pouring.

Makes 12.

3 comments
  1. d said:

    Because you’re worth it
    And far, far more!
    X d

  2. Chris said:

    Just made these for my work mates and they really loved them. If you been given the gift of ‘Kitchen’ can I suggest the traybakes? The raspberry bakewells were amazing!

  3. Em said:

    I love ‘Kitchen’ – such a great book. I will take up your recommendation and give the bakewells a go!

Leave a Reply

