Peanut Butter Snickers Muffins

Well this baking session for a bit of a gong show. I was really looking forward to baking these muffins (just look at the name!) but I successfully sabotaged myself.

I thought I had all the ingredients.. I SWORE I had eggs, but I didn’t.  Then I thought, why do you need eggs, really? The recipe only called for one egg.. surely I could leave it out.

Well, it turns out, I needed that darn egg.

Oh yeah, EGGS BIND STUFF. So my baking efforts resulted in crumb muffins. Rubbish. Don’t be lazy. Go buy those eggs.

Peanut Butter Snickers Muffins

(from the english muffin Nigella Lawson’s How to Be a Domestic Goddess)

INGREDIENTS

• 1-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
• 6 tablespoons sugar
• 1-1/2 tablespoons baking powder
• Pinch of salt
• 6 tablespoons chunky peanut butter
• 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
• 1 large egg, beaten
• 3/4 cup milk
• 3 1/2 full-size (2.07 ounces) Snickers bars, chopped
• 12-cup muffin pan with paper baking cups
  1. Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the peanut butter and mix until you have a bowl of coarse crumbs. Add the melted butter and egg to the milk, and then stir this gently into the bowl. Mix in the Snickers pieces and dollop into the muffin cups.
  2. Cook for 20 to 25 minutes, when the tops should be risen, golden and firm to the (light) touch. Sit the pan on a wire rack for 5 to 10 minutes before taking out each muffin in its paper cup and leaving them on the wire rack to cool, if you can.
1 comment
  1. d said:

    those photos are sooooo good X d
    off to jolly ice hockey sticks now
    Yaroo!

Leave a Reply

